Churros con Chocolate

Now this is something I had been looking forward to for a LONG time. I’ve always seen and heard about Spain’s ‘churros con chocolate’ and ever since I accepted this job I was dreaming of the day I would be able to try them. They didn’t disappoint.

036

Like many people, there is a special place in my heart for chocolate. Full disclosure,  it’s honestly pretty rare if I go a day with chocolate in some shape or form. Dark is definitely my favorite, but milk chocolate definitely has its place too and I especially love warm, gooey, melt-y chocolate. I’m already salivating just typing these words. Spain’s version of “hot chocolate” puts Americans’ Swiss Miss packets to SHAME. Instead of “chocolate”-flavored water, it is thick and creamy… basically straight up melted chocolate. Like drinking a cup of hot fudge. Or like the brownie batter that you lick from the spoon even though the package says not to. In short, it’s heavenly.

032

And the churros! These bad boys are made from scratch and fried fresh right in the restaurant, unlike the frozen/reheated psuedo-churros you get from a cart at the San Diego Zoo (or at least I did). They are warm, crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside and are absolutely delectable.  If you like the crunch, a quick dip will do, but leave them in a little longer and they come out saturated with chocolate. Ya really can’t lose.

038    037

Madrileños will eat churros con chocolate for breakfast, as an afternoon snack, an after-dinner dessert, or stop for a couple on the way home after a night of partying, so many places are open all night long (until 8 a.m.)!  This particular churro caper took place at La Churrería Chocolatería Los Artesanos 1902, which is one of two very famous churrerías in Madrid (rest assured, I will be trying the other place – strictly for comparison purposes, of course). It has been family owned and operated for all five generations it has been open! They offer a full menu too, with crêpes, waffles, croissants, and sandwiches too. I’d definitely say it is worth a stop if you are ever visiting Madrid.

039

Nos vemos!

Leave a Reply

